Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

I find it funny how a book can be out for many, many years, and then suddenly become popular. After all, I remember in 2011 (yes, 2011, you heard me correctly) going by the bookstore (in fact, I believe it was Borders) and seeing this book as a young middle school student. And of course, I immediately judged the book by it’s cover.

I mean, we all say that books aren’t judged by their covers, but they are sure picked off the shelf because of it.

I flipped through the book, read the back, and almost instantly put the book back down. There was no way that I was going to read a horror book, which was what I assumed the book was.

And, wow, was I wrong.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is more dark fantasy, if anything. When I read it just this past year, I couldn’t put it down. The story is not only fascinating, but it twists the classic boy-falls-in-love-with-girl story by writing the almost sequel of said book. It is very interesting and the pictures- real pictures that were embedded throughout the story-  only enhanced the plot and made it seem more realistic.

Not only the pictures, but the historical context, made the story that much more fascinating. It was set during WWII and in a way, the peculiar children represented the Jews living in or near Germany at the time. The fantastical lenses put on the historical story was truly spectacular.

Now, as for why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.

This book, although very entertaining, was not presented well. The cover and summary on the back did everything but define the book officially as horror. It wasn’t until multiple people recommended it to me, that I tried to read it. Talking to others about this book, many had the same experience as me. Presentation is everything, especially when it comes to books.

Also, the book, without spoiling anything, ends with something that didn’t tie up all the loose ends. Now, it is fine to have loose ends untied, but once the loose ends are there only to, as it seemed to me at least, make the reader buy the next story in the series, then I get annoyed. Loose ends and cliffhangers always tend to make me wonder if the writer had confidence in their piece as a standing unit, or if they believed that their book wouldn’t sell unless it cliffhangered. The book was ended there for a reason, and even though it was in a series, it should not have to rely on the other books to tell its specific story.

However, it is overall an amazing read and, if you can get passed the presentation and the loose-ends, then I would highly suggest you read it!

Buy Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs here.

 

Leave a Reply

